• Home
  • Keine Kategorien
  • 16. Dezember 2020

    Sarawak Malaysia Agreement

    The 20-point agreement or the 20-point memorandum is a list of 20 points drawn up by North-Borneo, which proposes the terms of its accession to the new federation as the state of Sabah during the negotiations leading up to the creation of Malaysia. In the Malaysian law of the Malaysian agreement, some of the twenty points were included to varying degrees in the Constitution by Malaysia; others were accepted only orally and therefore did not obtain legal status. The 20-point agreement often serves as a point of contact among those who claim that Sabah`s rights have been eroded over time within the Federation. [1] However, for the inhabitants of Sabah and Sarawak, who are on the island of Borneo, the agreement has left many with mixed feelings. Some people in these countries have long called for secession, and in recent years the drumming of separation has only become stronger. The first meeting on the subjects took place on 17 December 2018, during which 21 subjects were discussed by the cabinet`s special committee. 13 problems were identified as common problems affecting both the Sarawak government and the La Sabah government, and 8 as problems that concerned only the Sabah government. [16] Despite the federal government`s willingness to review the agreement, reports have been issued that negotiations between Sabah and the federal government have not proceeded smoothly, with the federal government dictating certain audit conditions, leading to the perception of the revision as a unilateral matter in which the federal government tries to maintain control over several issues. [17] The Malaysian Agreement or the Malaysian Agreement between the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Federation of Malaya, North Borneo, Sarawak and Singapore was the agreement that linked North Boréno, Sarawak and Singapore to the existing states of the Malaya Federation[3] the resulting Union with the name of Malaysia. [4] [5] Singapore was subsequently expelled from Malaysia and became an independent state on 9 August 1965. [6] The Malayan Union was founded by the British Malayas and consisted of the federated states of Malay Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang; the unfederated Malay states of Kedah, Perlis, Kelantan, Terengganu, Johor; and the streets of Penang and Malacca.

    It was created in 1946 by a series of agreements between the United Kingdom and the Malayan Union. [7] The Malay Union was replaced by the Federation of Malaya on 1 February 1948 and gained independence from the Commonwealth of Nations on 31 August 1957. [5] The 20 points were drafted with the aim of protecting the interests, rights and autonomy of the people of northern Borneo after the founding of the Malaysian Federation. A similar proposal, with some substantive differences, was made by Sarawak and is commonly referred to as the 18-point agreement. After the proposal to amend the Malaysian constitution on the equal status of Sabah and Sarawak was not adopted in 2019, the Malaysian federal government agreed to review the agreement with the „Special Committee to Review the Malaysian Agreement“ and commissioned a team from the MA63 Working Group to prepare a final report on the 1963 agreement by 31 August 2019. , which will be presented at the next meeting of the special committee.

    Verfasst von Stefan Oberhauser

    Zu diesem Artikel gibt es Noch keine Kommentare. Kommentar verfassen »

    Veröffentlicht in Allgemein


    « »

    Both comments and pings are currently closed.

    Comments are closed.

    Online Magazin Konzept und Realisierung kreateam & wolf informationsdesign